Sailor Ant!

So, as it turns out, I didn’t go for cell-shading after all. Once I started playing with the shades, my tendency to render rather than block took over and… ta-da?

I really enjoy how she turned out, and had a little fun with the simple doily design for the background.

As it turns out, Miss Ant should be attending New York Comic Con… which I should also be attending! So, my plan is to give her a gift print while I’m there, if I can manage to track her down! In the mean time, I’m going to spring this image on her via twitter!

To give a brief summary of this project, here’s a progression of the image from rough, to sketch, to lines, to flats, to full!

Like it, love it, hate it?

Tell me all about it! In… the comments below!

This entry was posted in art feed and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.