Picture It & Write 47 || ErmiliaBlog

I decided to participate in a creative writing activity recently. It’s not a very well-known facet of my creative skill set, but it’s there, nonetheless.

Why am I suddenly bringing it up, then?

Well, I was pleasantly surprised to win something as a result of my fleeting decision to contribute to this particular round.

A girl with dark hair sits at a table with several pill bottles spread before her, and pills spilled on the table.

Photo credit: howdarntragic on deviantart.com

I follow ermiliablog here on wordpress, and they host regular community exercises called “Picture It & Write.” I have seen several very stirring images, but this one in particular struck very close to home with me.

I’ve had my own personal problems lately, not least of which is being diagnosed with depression. Things are very challenging for me right now, and I’ll be making some very big changes in my life to try to get back on good footing.

This image, however… I immediately felt an urge to write for this entry. Not a passing desire, but a fiery need to tell a bit of my story in a forum where I could let some drama and imagination run wild.

So I did.

And it felt good to let out some steam and emotion in this way.

Then, I found out about the surprise contest, and that I’d been selected as a winner! I was flabbergasted – flattered, and surprised, and very, very pleased. In the midst of all the chaos and turbulence I’m struggling through, this little gem showed up and brought a smile to my face for the first time in days.

It feels good to feel good about something again, and it just goes to show that it truly never hurts to try…

This entry was posted in art feed, life feed and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Picture It & Write 47 || ErmiliaBlog

  1. Ermilia says:

    Your contribution was definitely worthy of a prize! I’m very glad Mokauthor hosted it. Thanks again for sharing your work and we hope to see you again soon. 🙂 Take care, Kristin!

    – Ermisenda

  2. Nanda says:

    I just loved what you wrote in response to Anne’s comment on Ermilia’s blog: ” In a strange juxtaposition, our modern societies have become so complex and wrapped in themselves that someone who is not truly destitute – someone who has all the necessities of life, and good family, and good health – can still feel destitute emotionally, and seemingly for no logical reason.” That’s so hard to make people understand… and I think they never will, if they’re not in our skin… Thank you so much for this, I have no words for you!
    xxxx

    • krashart says:

      You’re so welcome, and thank you in return – I am still amazed at the success of this little exercise of mine. I have shared in that destitute feeling, and been confronted with the factual reality that things weren’t that bad, but they felt bad anyway. It’s part of the condition, and as you say, if they’re not in our skin, there are many people who likely never will understand that.

Comments are closed.