Ruff Logo Semi-Final Designs

Ruff Logo Semi-Final Designs

Over on facebook, I held a little poll to see which of the concept designs was the most favored. These two got the most votes, so I decided that I’d go ahead and polish them both up and have a final poll with these two going head-to-head.

For any new followers, you can check out my RUFF tag to see my previous posts about this project. You can also check out the RUFF website! (I will likely be doing a website redesign for them as a personal project in the future)

On the top there you see a little bit of design process – from thumbnail, to basic forms, to slightly-more-refined forms. The font is not final, but it is a good first step. Bold, easy-to-read lettering is very important for the life-raft design so that it is easy to distinguish from the life raft elements.

Bottom is thumbnail to basic forms. Simple is beautiful, in this case (and this is my personal favorite of the concept designs). I realized after making my progress saves that I neglected to give the puppy silhouette a tail! Easily fixed! Like the life-raft design, the font here is not finalized. Due to the simple nature of this logo design, I have more wiggle room with the text – it can be a little fancier here. I want to maintain that it is a bold word, and an acronym, however – so I don’t want to go so fancy as using script fonts.

What do you think? These are not final designs, so your input can make a difference!

Image | This entry was posted in art feed and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ruff Logo Semi-Final Designs

  1. Tora says:

    Will they stay black and white or will there be color versions as well.

    • krashart says:

      I may consider adding color to the “stripes” on the life raft (which is the design that seems to be getting the most attention now), but a strictly black-and-white design is optimal. Since it’s for a non-profit organization, a black-and-white logo will be easier to use due to its lower cost. It will also be impressively easier to use in screen print designs and other promotional printing that the organization may eventually use the logo for. While it is possible for color designs to translate well into grey scale, I do not want to rely on that or jeopardize the design’s ability to be replicated by incorporating complex shading, either. (This is especially applicable if RUFF eventually uses the logo on paperwork or forms, and runs photocopies instead of prints from a digital file)

Comments are closed.