Old School: Bookmarks

I was cleaning up a bit today, and found these.

When I was in middle school, and on into high school, I read. A lot. And my schools had a habit of rewarding or at the very least tracking students’ reading habits. I picked up on that for the longest time.

Above are two index cards that I used as bookmarks throughout two academic years. I wrote the names and authors of all the books I’d read during those years. These bookmarks are from high school. I didn’t get to read quite as much then as in middle school. My middle school ones often got so full I had to staple a second card to the first for more room. The fronts and backs of the two index cards are shown above. I did not alter the colors – I wrote in Crayola fine-point markers on these particular cards, back in high school. Not the best of choices, considering how hard they are to read now!

Good times.

I’m currently reading the Song of Ice and Fire books by George R. R. Martin. Finally finished the first book, “A Game of Thrones,” today and started the second, “A Clash of Kings” I believe is the title.

Yes, I also watch the HBO show. It is incredibly well-adapted from the books and beautifully done.

This entry was posted in life feed and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Old School: Bookmarks

  1. Cassie says:

    I love finding stuff like this. It’s when you realize you really are the same person you were back then. 🙂 Plus, who doesn’t love recording doodles, or random lists on their bookmarks. I always find myself using receipts from under car seats for bookmarks. Someone should do a blog on all the random bookmarks they use.

    • krashart says:

      I have used old receipts before, too! More often than not, I find old sticky notes, or paper clips… if I’m only leaving the book for a few minutes, sometimes I’ll just tuck a corner of my blanket in between the pages! That blog idea would be a really interesting one to pull off, for sure!

      • Cassie says:

        I do random things too. I’ve definitely done a blanket especially when you read in bed. It seems we bookish people have similarities that way. 🙂

Comments are closed.