Super 8 & Sparkpeople

Super 8 Movie Poster

Super 8 Movie Poster

Well, here’s another movie blurb: My partner and I saw Super 8 this weekend during our staycation. We were both pretty psyched about it based on the trailers we’d seen. I got a bit of the Cloverfield anticipation. Thankfully, Super 8 doesn’t aim for the whole “first-person” experience like Cloverfield did, and it had a pretty nice, strong story. I loved that the main characters were kids – really brought me back to the days of movies like the Goonies. It was, overall and in my opinion, a pretty good movie. Definitely worth seeing.

Now, movies aside, I’ve got this life goal to get healthier. In the past, I’ve used this really fantastic site called Sparkpeople. It’s a lot like Weight Watchers – only free. And boy, I do enjoy free! It takes time and dedication, like any goal. It also takes commitment, planning, and some attitude renovations. But it’s as much a community as a health tool, so you’re pretty well-covered. Back in September of 2010, I first found and started using the site’s tools – and I dropped 20 pounds over a month and a half.

Sparkpeople

Sparkpeople

Then, of course, my last couple months of school arrived and I didn’t have the option to dedicate as much time to my health goals – realizing my academic goals was just a tad more important. So, the 20 pounds crept back up on me, an ounce during this up-all-night cram fest, another couple during this late-night feeding frenzy… you get the picture. And now that I’ve accomplished that goal of mine, I am again dedicating a large part of my time to being more active on Sparkpeople, and (more importantly) in life. (if you plan to join, you should be my friend!!)

I’m starting to reach out my feelers and see what sort of work opportunities are available to me once my run at my current job comes to a close in two weeks. There’s a lot out there… and that same startling fright and astounding exhilaration from graduation is creeping back up on me every time I look at job openings and responses. Real life, you’re certainly something!

Looking into becoming a veritable driver, too. Shameful, I know – 22 and no driver’s license! Well, the time is now, and I’m shopping around, checking out my options, and (of course) balking at those horrifying insurance rates. I’m quite fond of Honda’s 2011 Fit, and their Civics and Accords. I know it’s a little taboo to go and get a new car as your first vehicle, but I’ve driven before, and the peace of mind I’d have, knowing I didn’t get scammed (at least, not as badly as I could off craigslist) would be worth it.

Ah, enough drivel! Good night, internet!

This entry was posted in life feed and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.